ICMIMT 2020 Keynote Speakers

ICMIMT 2022 Keynote Speakers


Prof. Makoto Iwasaki, Dr. Eng., IEEE Fellow
Department of Electrical and Mechanical Engineering, Nagoya Institute of Technology, Japan

Title of the speech: High Trajectory Tracking of Multi-Axis Robot by Iterative Learning Control

Makoto Iwasaki received the B.S., M.S., and Dr. Eng. degrees in electrical and computer engineering from Nagoya Institute of Technology, Nagoya, Japan, in 1986, 1988, and 1991, respectively. Since 1991, he has been with the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Nagoya Institute of Technology, where he is currently a Professor at the Department of Electrical and Mechanical Engineering.
As professional contributions of the IEEE, he has been an AdCom member of IES in term of 2010 to 2019, a Technical Editor for IEEE/ASME TMech from 2010 to 2014, an Associate Editor for IEEE TIE since 2014, a Management Committee member of IEEE/ASME TMech (Secretary in 2016 and Treasurer in 2017), a Co- Editors-in-Chief for IEEE TIE since 2016, a Vice President for Planning and Development in term of 2018 to 2021, respectively. He is IEEE fellow class 2015 for "contributions to fast and precise positioning in motion controller design".
He has received the Best Paper Award of Trans of IEE Japan in 2013, the Best Paper Award of Fanuc FA Robot Foundation in 2011, the Technical Development Award of IEE Japan in 2017, the Nagamori Awards in 2017, the Ichimura Prize in Industry for Excellent Achievement of Ichimura Foundation for New Technology in 2018, the Technology Award of the Japan Society for Precision Engineering in 2018, and the Commendation for Science and Technology by the Japanese Minister of Education in 2019, respectively. His current research interests are the applications of control theories to linear/nonlinear modeling and precision positioning, through various collaborative research activities with industries.


Fellow of American Society of Mechanical Engineers
Prof. Dr. Chris Yuan, Case Western Reserve University, USA

Title of the speech: Manufacturing of Lithium Ion Batteries for Electric Vehicles: Current Status, Challenges and Outlook

Biography: Chris Yuan currently holds the Leonard Case Jr. Professorship in Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at Case Western Reserve University. He is the Director of the Laboratory for Sustainable Energy Manufacturing and Director of the DOE-funded Industrial Assessment Center at CWRU. His research activities are focused on the forefront of sustainable manufacturing, industrial energy efficiency and clean energy manufacturing. So far he has published over 180 research papers and book chapters on these topics. His research work has been recognized by many national and international awards. In 2021, he received the Thar Energy Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). In 2017 his research won First Place in the U.S. RAMP National Research Competition on Sustainable Manufacturing. In 2018, he is the recipient of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers’ Chao and Trigger Young Manufacturing Engineer Award. He received the National Science Foundation Career Award in 2014, The Gustav Olling Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award from the Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) in 2013, and the LEO Best Paper Award from the 2013 CIRP International Conference on Life Cycle Engineering. He served the Chair of ASME Life Cycle Engineering Technical Committee during 2013-2015, and served over 50 times as conference program chairs, track chairs, symposium chairs, session chairs, scientific committee, etc., for various ASME, IEEE, and CIRP conferences. He obtained his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of California, Berkeley in 2009. He is a Fellow of American Society of Mechanical Engineers.